The Yadkin Valley Rotary Club (#30,000) was founded on Feb. 23, 1994, as the Elkin-Jonesville (N.C.) Rotary Club. It was through the efforts of the Mount Airy Rotary Club and a group of local Rotary enthusiasts that the club was formed.

At that first meeting, Charter Night, at the Holiday Inn of Jonesville the club installed Rich Osmus as its first president. Osmus had previously been a Rotarian in Georgia. Their were 33 charter members, and 14 remain as members.

Since its founding the club has participated in a number of projects for the benefit of communities both locally and internationally. It raised more than $40,000 to install a water well in an impoverished area of Imperatriz, Brazil, and returned there later to help fund an employment training program. More than $12,000 was raised to purchase mattresses for an orphanage in Moldova.

On a local level, the club has supported the Upper Yadkin Valley Habitat for Humanity with an annual golf tournament. It also serves about 250 people each year at its Pumpkin Pancake Breakfast at the annual Yadkin Valley Pumpkin Festival.

Past Presidents

Rich Osmus 1994-95
Lenna Hobson 1995-96
Gary Laws 1996-97
Rebel Good 1997-98
Nancy Nichols 1998-99
Ben Mastin 1999-00
Ann Ashman 2000-01
Carolyn Holcomb 2001-02
Donna Thompson 2002-03
Gary Maxey 2003-04
Teresa Osborne 2004-05

Current Charter Members

Ann Ashman
Bob Ball
Rebel Good
Lenna Hobson
Carolyn Holcomb
Johnsie Hudspeth
Perry Jernigan
Kathie McDaniel
Nancy Nichols
Rich Osmus
Jim Poindexter
John Shannon
Hal Stuart
Donna Thompson

Charter Members No Longer In The Club

George Bloodworth
John Brearley
Jan Christiansen
David Craft
Roland Dobson
Fred Eidson
Jeff Eidson
Marcia Fincannon
Michael Golden
John Hall
Maxwell Hill
William Hummel
John Kennedy
Gary Laws
Ben Mastin
Lewis Meade
Wayne Moore
James Partin
Greg Woodward

Rich Osmus is installed as the first president of the
Elkin-Jonesville Rotary Club by District Governor
Wilbur Hancock as charter member Ben Masten looks on.

Yadkin Valley Rotary Club
XXX ????? St. Elkin, NC 28621
© 2004 YVRC